Golden Eagle

Now Accepting ISAC Golden Eagle Nominations!

Since 2010 during the Fall School General Session ISAC has annually honored one individual as an ISAC Golden Eagle. The ISAC Golden Eagle recognizes and honor individuals who provide extraordinary public service to county government through ISAC and/or NACo.

Golden Eagle Honorees are selected from nominations submitted to the ISAC Golden Eagle Committee, which will consist of board and staff members. The committee will then submit its recommendations to the ISAC Board for approval. The ISAC Golden Eagle honoree(s) will be recognized during the ISAC Fall School of Instruction General Session.

Those eligible of induction include:

  1. Current or former elected and appointed county officials
  2. Business or civic leaders
  3. ISAC Preferred Vendors
  4. Persons providing assistance to counties as trainers, consultants or advisors
  5. Former members of ISAC staff

*Current ISAC board members and staff are not eligible.

Honorees will be selected on the basis of their service rendered to county government through ISAC and/or NACo. Such service includes:

  1. Leadership in ISAC and ISAC-affiliated boards
  2. Service to the NACo
  3. Service on state or national boards or commissions
  4. Counties in training, education and development of local leadership
  5. Advocacy for counties and good local government
  6. Assistance and support to counties


2023 – Joan McCallmant, former Linn County Recorder

2022 – Melvyn Houser, Pottawattamie County Auditor

2021 – Lonny Pulkrabek, former Johnson County Sheriff

2019 – Marge Pitts, Clay County Auditor

2018 – Harlan Hansen, former Humboldt County Supervisor

2017 – Wayne Clinton, former Story County Supervisor

2016 – Linda Langston, former Linn County Supervisor and NACo Past President

2015 – Sue Vande Kamp, former Story County Recorder

2014 – Richard Heidloff, former Lyon County Treasurer

2013 – Mike Wentzien, former Supervisors Lobbyist and Tama County Supervisor

2012 – J. Patrick White, former Johnson County Attorney and ISAC Past President

2011 – Kim Reynolds, Governor and former Clarke County Treasurer

2010 – Jane Halliburton, former Story County Supervisor and ISAC Board member

To nominate qualified individuals to be honored as ISAC Golden Eagles, please complete the nomination form and return it to:

Iowa State Association of Counties
Attn: ISAC Golden Eagle
5500 Westown Parkway, Suite 190
West Des Moines, IA 50266

Please return submissions prior to May 31, 2024. A Golden Eagle is not guaranteed to be honored annually.


If you have any questions regarding the ISAC Golden Eagle, please contact Rachel Bennett at 515.244.7181 or