2024 ICEA ANNUAL CONFERENCE DECEMBER 4-6, 2024

Wednesday, December 4, 2024

	Exhibitor Setup
10:30 am	Registration, Exhibits Open for Viewing - Meeting Room Level
11:00 am	AGC Social with Conference Attendees - Meeting Room Level
12:00 pm	Opening Luncheon with AGC - Ballroom A
1:00 pm	Afternoon Session - Ballroom B Presiding - Paul Geilenfeldt, Marshall County ICEA - Brian Keierleber, President, Buchanan County IHRB - Lee Bjerke, Iowa County Engineers Association Service Bureau FHWA - Tim Marshall, Division Administrator ISRMSA - Jerad Kelley, President, Linn County ICEOO - Ashley Thompson, President, Warren County APWA - Mike Duffy, President, City of Cedar Rapids
1:30 pm	ICEA Business Meeting - Ballroom B
1:45 pm	Keynote Address: Courageous Leadership – Living a Life of Influence; Dan Meers, Mascot, Motivational Speaker, Author, and Family Man - Ballroom B
2:45 pm	Refreshment Break - Meeting Room Level
3:15-4:45 pm	Local Systems, Session A - Ballroom B Presiding – Nicole Moore, Iowa DOT
3:15 pm 3:45 pm 4:15 pm 4:30 pm	Local Systems Update – Niki Stinn, Iowa DOT SRFDC History, Origin, and Updates – Stu Anderson, Iowa DOT and Brian Moore, ICEASB Emergency Relief (ER) Program Overview – Andrew Zimmerman, FHWA-Iowa Division ADA Frequently Encountered Issues – Eryn Stone, Iowa DOT
4:45-6:15 pm	Vendor Reception - Meeting Room Level

<u>Thursda</u>	<u>v. December 5, 2024</u>
7:30 am	Continental Breakfact, Exhibits Or

7:30 am	Continental Breakfast; Exhibits Open - Meeting Room Level
8:30 am to 8:45 am	Vendor Presentation – Logan Contractors - Meeting Room Level, East Side *Iowa DOT HWY 5 Slide Bridge Treated with MCE & Pavix
9:00 am to 11:00 am	Morning Concurrent Sessions
	Session A – Emergency Preparedness and Management - Meeting Room 301 Presiding – Michael Kueny, Winneshiek County
9:00 am	Disaster?: Things to Know for the First First 48 Hours – Sean Snyder, Winneshiek County Emergency Management Agency and Chris Showalter, Butler County Emergency Management Agency
9:45 am 10:30 am	FEMA Documentation/Disaster Recovery Assistance – Leon Freeman, Calhoun Burns Associates Lessons Learned from the Greenfield Tornado – Nick Kauffman, Adair County and Jeremy Cooper, Adair and Guthrie County Emergency Management Agency
	Session B – Low Volume Road Treatments, Safety, & Iowa History - Meeting Room 309-310 Presiding – Jayden Scheckel, Jackson County
9:00 am	Dust Control and Base Stabilization – Brian Keierleber, Buchanan County and Jacob Thorius, Washington County
9:30 am	Speed Management Strategies for Small Towns and High to Low Speed Transition Zones – Shauna Hallmark, Iowa State University
10:00 am 10:30 am	Gravel Road Safety Improvements Research Project Update – Shauna Hallmark, Iowa State University How Did We Get Here?: A History of Secondary Roads in Iowa Panel – Royce Fichtner, Retired Marshall County Engineer and APAI; Gary Mauer, Grundy County; and, Paul Assman, Crawford County
	Session C – Bridges and Structures - Meeting Room 319-320 Presiding – Tate Schmeling, Pocahontas County
9:00 am	Short Span Bridge Standards – Josh Opheim, WHKS and Lee Bjerke, Iowa County Engineers Association Service Bureau
9:30 am	Metal with Memory - Bassem Andrawes, University of Illinois - Urbana Champaign
10:00 am 10:30 am	Galvanized H-Pile Study Results – Justin Dahlberg, Iowa State University SNBI County Updates – Scott Neubauer and Kevin Vrchoticky, Iowa DOT
	Session D – Water and Environmental Considerations - Meeting Room 311 Presiding – Dennis Clark, O'Brien County
9:00 am	Watershed Protection and Flood Prevention Structures in Iowa – Lee White, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
9:30 am	USACE Applications: RRS and Permitting – Allison Froeschle and Troy Larson, United States Corps of Engineers, Rock Island District
10:00 am 10:30 am	Driving Change for Listed Species – Anna Lopez, United States Fish and Wildlife Service Insights into Weather Forecasting – Brett McIntyre, Polk County Emergency Management
11:00 am	Photos for County Engineers - Service Bureau Staff Table (for new engineers and those who need an updated photo)
11:15 am to 11:30 am	Vendor Presentation – Gallagher Asphalt Corporation - Meeting Room Level, East Side *Hot In-Place Recycling 101 & Asset Management

11:45 am	 Awards Luncheon - Ballroom A MCEA Update - Mel Odens, MCEA President, Kandiyohi County, MN NACE Update - Jacob Thorius, NACE President Elect, Washington County Technical School Scholarship Awards DMACC and Hawkeye Community College
1:00 pm	Roundtables - Meeting Room 301, 309, 310, 311, 319, 320 Subjects collected by the DOT Local Systems Bureau Note: Refer to room assignment handout in your folder for county assignments & topics
1:15 pm to 1:30 pm	Vendor Presentation – Summit Carbon Solutions - Meeting Room Level, East Side
2:00 pm	Concrete Sundaes & Exhibitor/ICEA Prize Drawing - Meeting Room Level
2:30 pm	Exhibits Close/Tear-down
2:30-4:30 pm	Afternoon Concurrent Sessions
	Engineers Program - Meeting Room 309-310 Presiding – Chris Fredericksen, Shelby County
2:30 pm 3:00 pm 3:40 pm 4:00 pm	Iowa Automated Permit System Routing Network – Brenda Freshour-Johnston, Iowa DOT Confronting Giants: Quantifying Superload Impacts on Road Infrastructure Systems – Halil Ceylan, Iowa State University Utility Coordination/Permitting Response Strategies Discussion – Moderator: Brandon Billings, Cerro Gordo County Communicating During Crisis: Successful Media Strategies – Brett McIntyre, Polk County Emergency Management
	Technicians Program - Ballroom A Presiding – Dalton Marsh, Webster County
	This session will involve presentations and discussions about some of the more common issues that come up in project development, APPIA and Doc Express and what to include and look for in the project closeout process.
2:30 pm 3:10 pm	Project Development Tips and Tricks – Jenifer Bates, Iowa DOT Project Development, Construction Inspection, and Appia Panel – Adam Miller, Kossuth County; Mike Kindschi, Black Hawk County, and Jeremy McLaughlin, Iowa DOT
3:50 pm	Project Closeout Process for DOT Projects – Dillon Feldmann, Iowa DOT
5:00 pm	Reception & Cash Bar - Ballroom Foyer, Hilton Hotel Students arrive for Banquet
5:30 pm	Banquet and Evening Program - Cloud Ballroom, Hilton Hotel Invocation - JD King, Page County Introduction of Past Presidents - Brian Keierleber, Buchanan County, ICEA President Technician Awards Introduction of Students and Scholarship Presentations:

ICEA Award Presentations

Friday, December 6, 2024 (ALL Events at Hilton Hotel)

7:30 am	Breakfast - Ballroom Foyer
8:15 am	General Session - Cloud Ballroom Presiding – Laura Sievers, Woodbury County
8:15 am	Excellence in Ethical Decision Making: Approaches to Being our Best – Jamie Fischer, Ethical Leaders in Action
9:15 am	Spotlight Project: Relocation of Historic Truss Bridge, Garret Reddish, Linn County
10:00 am	Monument Preservation – Isaiah Reicks, Herold-Reicks Surveying and Brad Geater, Axiom Consultants
10:30 am	Crucial Conversations – Kim Hanson, Iowa Department of Administrative Services
11:15 am - 12:00 pm	Local Systems, Session B - Cloud Ballroom Presiding – Nicole Moore, Iowa DOT
11:15 am 11:35 am 11:50 am	AASHTOWare BrR Update – Shawn Sersland, Iowa DOT Sign Replacement Program for Cities & Counties – Mary Beth Sprouse, Iowa DOT Iowa LTAP Update – Keith Knapp, Iowa LTAP
12:00 pm	Adjourn

THANK YOU TO OUR SPONSORS!

WIFI SPONSOR



THURSDAY MORNING BREAKFAST SPONSOR

VENDOR RECEPTION SPONSOR



