2023 ICEA ANNUAL CONFERENCE

DECEMBER 13-15, 2023

(Tentative, 8/31/2023)

Wednesday, December 13, 2023

7:30-10:30am Exhibitor Setup

10:30 am Registration, Exhibits Open for Viewing

11:00 am AGC Social with Conference Attendees

12:00 pm Opening Luncheon with AGC

1:00 pm Afternoon Session

Presiding – Cathy Nicholas, Black Hawk County
ICEA – Paul Geilenfeldt, President, Marshall County
IHRB – Lee Bjerke, Iowa County Engineers Service Bureau

FHWA - Tim Marshall, Division Administrator

ISRMSA – John Runneberg, President, Pocahontas County ICEOO – Janet Payne, Vice President, Buchanan County APWA – Scott Sovers, President, City of Iowa City

1:30 pm ICEA Business Meeting

1:45 pm Keynote Address: A Different Kind of Career: Under Cover in the CIA – Jim Olson

2:45 pm Refreshment Break

3:15 pm Local Systems, Session A

Presiding - Nicole Moore, Iowa DOT

4:45-6:15 pm Vendor Reception

Thursday, December 14, 2023

7:30 am Continental Breakfast; Exhibits Open

9:00 am to Morning Concurrent Sessions

11:15 am

Session A - Bridge and Culvert Design and Inspection

Presiding - Aaron Putnam, Polk County

9:00 am Basics of SIIMS – Kevin Vrchoticky, Iowa DOT

9:45 am NBIS and Specifications for the National Bridge Inventory – Scott Neubauer, Iowa DOT

10:30 am Update on Bridge and Culvert Standards – Steve Seivert, Iowa DOT

Section R -	Employee	Programs an	d Dublic	Palations
Session D -	Liiibiovee	Programs an	iu Public	Relations

Presiding – Cole Budach, Dickinson County

9:00 am 9:30 am 10:00 am 10:30 am	Building a Team Culture – Brad Ketels, Linn County Discussion of County Public Relations Approaches Employee Recognition and Engagement Initiatives – Jaime Horbach, Iowa Select Farms County Employee Safety Programs – Mike Raner, Northwest Iowa Planning and Development Commission (NWIPDC)/SHIELD
	Session C – Safety Activities, Programs, and Measures Presiding – Jonathan Bullock, Boone County
9:00 am 9:30 am 10:00 am 10:30 am	County Experience with E-Ticketing – Nick Roethler, Kossuth County; and Others Traffic and Safety Bureau Update – Jan Laaser-Webb and Greg Karssen, Iowa DOT Sign Replacement Program Update – Mary Beth Sprouse, Iowa DOT Pedestrian/Bicyclist Roadway Safety Measures in Rural Areas – Nicole Oneyear, FHWA – Iowa Division
	Session D – Construction Materials and Practices Presiding – Bryan Horesowky, Muscatine County
9:00 am	W-Beam Bridge Rails for Low-Volume Rural Roads: Issues and Solutions – Scott Rosenbaugh, Midwest Roadside Safety Facility, University of Nebraska – Lincoln
9:45 am	Bio-Asphalt Uses and Application Testing – Joel Fantz, Fayette County and Chris Williams, Iowa State University
10:15 am	Deck Sealing Applications –Brian Keierleber, Buchanan County and Ryan Brennan, Black Hawk County
10:35 am	Seal Coating and Other Preservation Techniques – Eric VandeZande, Denco Highway Construction Corporation
11:00 am	Photos for County Engineers (for new engineers and those who need an updated photo)
11:15 am	Exhibitor/Participant Opportunities
11:45 am	 Awards Luncheon MCEA Update – Brian Pogodzinski, MCEA President, Houston County, MN NACE Update – Jeff Blue, NACE President, Champaign County, IL Technical School Scholarship Awards DMACC and Hawkeye Community College
1:00 pm	Roundtables Subjects collected by the DOT Local Systems Bureau Note: Refer to room assignment handout in your folder for county assignments & topics
2:00 pm	Concrete Sundaes & Exhibitor/ICEA Prize Drawing
2:30 pm	Exhibits Close/Tear-down
2:30-4:30 pm	Engineers Program Presiding – Ben Daleske, Tama County

RAGBRAI: Past, Present, and Future – Matt Phippen, RAGBRAI Ride Director Panel Discussion: Railroad Coordination with Locals – Jacob Rzewnicki, BNSF Railroad; Larry Lloyd, CPKC Railroad; Kevin Donahue, CN Railroad; and, Kelli O'Brien, UP Railroad Tips and Tricks to Develop Individual County Grant Applications – Lindsey Schroeder, ICEASB; Joel Fantz, Fayette County; and, William Rabenberg, Clay County BrR Software and Mapping Demonstration – Geoffrey Trees and Carolyn Kois, ProMiles

2:30-4:30 pm **Technicians Program - Getting the Job Done (Projects and More Projects)**

Presiding - Dalton Marsh, Webster County

Our new normal is that most of us are involved with a lot of construction projects, many of us have new staff or may be new to the job ourselves, and a lot of the systems we use have been or are being updated, altered, or changed entirely. This session will focus on getting the job done. It will consist of a presentation/discussion about organization and time management work/life skills (Speaker: Krisdeena Jansen, GLUTREK Engagement and Development). This will be followed up by a panel and/or roundtables to answer/discuss pre-submitted and "live" questions related to issues encountered when working to get the job done (e.g., project documentation, AutoCAD needs, construction inspection, etc.)

5:00 pm Reception & Cash Bar

Students arrive for Banquet

5:30 pm **Banquet and Evening Program**

Invocation - JD King, Page County

Introduction of Past Presidents – Paul Geilenfeldt, Marshall County, ICEA President

Technician Awards

Introduction of Students and Scholarship Presentations:

Iowa State University University of Iowa

Introduction of New County Engineers

ICEA Award Presentations

Friday, December 15, 2023

7:30 am	Breakfast
8:15 am	General Session Presiding – Casey Stickfort, Clayton County
8:15 am	Challenges for Engineering Ethics in an Age of Big Data and AI – Laura Grossenbacher, College of Engineering, University of Wisconsin – Madison
9:15 am	Concrete Initiatives and Innovations Update – Greg Mulder, Iowa Concrete Paving Association
9:45 am	Asphalt Initiatives and Innovations Update – Royce Fichtner, Asphalt Paving Association of Iowa
10:15 am	Mental Health & Suicide Prevention in the Construction Industry – Vince Hafeli, Ajax Paving Industries of Florida, LLC
11:15 am	Local Systems, Session B Presiding – Nicole Moore, Iowa DOT
11:45 am	Adjourn