2022 ICEA ANNUAL CONFERENCE

DECEMBER 14-16, 2022

(Tentative, 11/28/2022)



Wednesday, December 14, 2022

7:30-10:30am Exhibitor Setup

10:30 am Registration, Exhibits Open for Viewing

11:00 am AGC Social with Conference Attendees

12:00 pm Opening Luncheon with AGC

1:00 pm **Afternoon Session**

Presiding - Mark Nahra, Woodbury County

ICEA – Cathy Nicholas, President, Black Hawk County IHRB – Brian Moore, Iowa County Engineers Service Bureau FHWA – Mark Johnson, Deputy Division Administrator

ISRMSA - Jerad Syfert, President, Henry County

ICEOO – Janet Payne, Vice President, Buchanan County APWA – Dave Carney, President, City of Sioux City

1:30 pm ICEA Business Meeting

1:45 pm FUNdamentals of Meaningful Leadership, Paul J. Long, Midwest Speakers Bureau

2:45 pm Refreshment Break

3:15 pm Local Systems, Session A

Presiding - Nicole Moore, Iowa DOT

RISE and Other Systems Planning Updates – Craig Markley, Iowa DOT Traffic and Safety Program and Funding Updates – Greg Karssen, Iowa DOT

Local Systems Update - Niki Stinn, Local Systems Bureau, Iowa DOT

4:45-6:15 pm Vendor Reception

Thursday, December 15, 2022

7:30 am Continental Breakfast; Exhibits Open

7:30-8:45 am Vendor Presentations

9:00 am to 11:15 am

Morning Concurrent Sessions

Session A - Emerging Issues

Presiding - Michael Frietsch, Jasper County

9:00 am Railroad Coordination Efforts – Kristopher Klop, Iowa DOT and Amanda Martin, Iowa DOT

Iowa DOT Rail Bureau

| 9:30 am | Iowa's Changing Climate and Implications on Infrastructure Sustainability – Dr. Justin Glisan, |
|-------------------------------------|--|
| 10:00 am | State Climatologist of Iowa Extraordinary Developments Roadway Agreements Panel – Ben Hull, Lee County; Adam |
| 10:30 am | Clemons, Wright County; and, Ryan Weidemann, Hamilton County Leveraging GIS for Data Driven Decisions – Brad Ketels, Linn County |
| | Session B – Bridge Structures Presiding – Keith Brann, Osceola County |
| 9:00 am 9:30 am 10:00 am | Modular and ABC Steel Bridges – Michael Barker, University of Wyoming In-House Bridge Construction/Repair (Abutments, Beam-in-Slab, UHPC Steel Beam End Repair) – Brian Moore, ICEA Service Bureau and Lyle Brehm, Tama and Poweshiek Counties Update on AASHTO BrR Software for Bridge Ratings – James Hauber and Shawn Sersland, Iowa |
| 10:30 am | DOT Update on SNBI and NBIS – Scott Neubauer, Iowa DOT |
| | Session C – Safety Implementation Presiding – Jacob Page, Floyd County |
| 9:00 am 9:30 am 10:00 am | E-Ticketing Implementation & Safety – Matt Miller, Iowa DOT Traffic and Safety Implementation Activities – Jan Laaser-Webb, Iowa DOT ADS for Rural America – An Automated Vehicle Demonstration Project on Rural Roadways – Cheryl Roe, University of Iowa |
| 10:30 am | Update on Iowa State University Safety Research – Nicole Oneyear, Institute for Transportation |
| | Session D – Environmental Issues Presiding – Joel Sikkema, Sioux County |
| 9:00 am 10:00 am 10:30 am | Stream Permitting and Mitigation with Case Studies – Kevin Griggs, Emmons & Oliver Resources, Inc.; Matt Zehr, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, and Abigail Steele, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers On Road Flood Reduction Structures – Antonio Arenas Amado, Iowa State University Benefits of Geologic Mapping in Iowa – Stephanie Tassier-Surine, Iowa Geological Survey |
| 11:00 am | Photos for County Engineers (for new engineers and those who need an updated photo) |
| 11:00-11:45 am Vendor Presentations | |
| 11:15 am | Exhibitor/Participant Opportunities |
| 11:45 am | Awards Luncheon MCEA Update – Joe Triplett, MCEA President, Chisago County, MN NACE Update – Jeff Blue, NACE President-Elect, Champaign County, IL Technical School Scholarship Awards DMACC and Hawkeye Community College |
| 1:00 pm | Roundtables Subjects collected by the DOT Local Systems Bureau Note: Refer to room assignment handout in your folder for county assignments & topics |
| 2:00 pm | Concrete Sundaes & Exhibitor/ICEA Prize Drawing |
| 2:00-2:45 pm | Vendor Presentations |
| 2:30 pm | Exhibits Close/Tear-down |
| | |

2:30-4:30 pm **Engineers Program**

Presiding – Michael Hackett, Madison County

Federal Discretionary Grant Activity Update in Iowa – Lee Bjerke, Winneshiek County

Responding to CDL Training Requirements Panel - William Bartelson, Iowa DOT; Mindy Tillotson

and Tommy Flinn, CDL Now; Drew Zane, Iowa DOT; and, Jason Fisher, Iowa DOT

ATV/UTV Implementation Follow Up – Lucas Beenken, ISAC Public and Private Utilities in ROW – Deanne Popp, Iowa DOT

2:30-4:30 pm **Technicians Program**

Presiding - Dalton Marsh, Webster County

Federal-aid Construction Inspection and Project Close-out - Iowa DOT Local Systems Bureau

Field Staff

Iowa DOT Local Systems Bureau and District Materials Technician Outreach Roundtables - Iowa

DOT Local Systems Field Staff

Appia for Technicians Applications Discussion - Iowa DOT Local Systems Bureau Field Staff

AutoCAD User Group Products Update – Adam Clemons, Wright County

5:00 pm Reception & Cash Bar

Students arrive for Banquet

5:30 pm **Banquet and Evening Program**

Invocation – Thomas Parsons

Introduction of Past Presidents - Cathy Nicholas, Black Hawk County, ICEA President

Technician Awards

Introduction of Students and Scholarship Presentations:

Iowa State University University of Iowa

Introduction of New County Engineers

ICEA Award Presentations

Friday, December 16, 2022

7:30 am Breakfast

8:15 am **General Session**

Presiding - Russell Weber, Dubuque County

8:15 am Ethics and Leadership, Mike Duffy, City of Cedar Rapids, IA

9:15 am Local Systems, Session B

Presiding – Nicole Moore, Iowa DOT

Motor Vehicle Division Collaboration and Permit Legislation Updates - Kelli Huser, Motor Vehicle

Division, Iowa DOT and Alex Jansen, Motor Vehicle Division, Iowa DOT

9:45 am Break

10:00 am Federal-aid Refresher

Presiding - Nicole Moore, Iowa DOT

FHWA Welcome – Micah Loesch, FHWA – Iowa Division STIP Programming for Federal-aid – Shelby Ebel, Iowa DOT

Stand-Alone Grants vs. Formula Funds - Sarah Okerlund, Local Systems Bureau, Iowa DOT

Project Development & Permitting, Funding Agreements – Sarah Okerlund, DeeAnn Newell, and Brennan Dolan, Iowa DOT
Contract Administration – Local Systems Field Staff
Final Field Reviews and Project Closeout – Local Systems Field Staff
Question & Answers

12:00 pm Adjourn