2021 ICEA ANNUAL CONFERENCE DECEMBER 15-17, 2021

Wednesday, December 15, 2021

7:30-10:30am Exhibitor Setup

10:30 am **Registration, Exhibits Open for Viewing Meeting Room Level**

11:00 am AGC Social with Conference Attendees Meeting Room Level

12:00 pm **Opening Luncheon with AGC Ballroom B**

Comments by ICEA President, AGC of Iowa President, and Iowa DOT Director Scott Marler

1:00 pm Afternoon Session Ballroom A

Presiding - Todde Folkerts, Lucas County

ICEA - Mark Nahra, President, Woodbury County

IHRB - Brian Moore, Iowa County Engineers Service Bureau

FHWA – Tim Marshall, Division Administrator ISRMSA – Jerad Kelley, President, Linn County ICEOO – Anita Nugent, President, Johnson County APWA – Jeremy Noel, President, City of Council Bluffs

1:45 pm **Keynote Address Ballroom A**

Championship Leadership, Nate Bailey, Former 1st Lieutenant in the U.S. Army and Leadership

Expert

2:45 pm Refreshment Break Meeting Room Level

Sponsored by Team Lab

3:15 pm Local Systems, Session A Ballroom A

Presiding - Nicole Moore, Iowa DOT

Contracts Bureau Communications - Stacy Ryan, Iowa DOT

Local Systems Update - Niki Stinn, Iowa DOT

2021 Road Use Tax Fund Study - Stuart Anderson, Iowa DOT

Federal Surface Transportation Reauthorization & Other Funds + PEDS/Inactives - Niki Stinn

and Sarah Okerlund, Iowa DOT

4:45-6:15 pm **Vendor Reception Meeting Room Level**

Thursday, December 16, 2021

7:30 am Continental Breakfast; Exhibits Open Meeting Room Level

Sponsored by JEO Consulting Group

7:30 am to **Exhibitor Presentations Ballroom Foyer**

8:45 am

7:30 am - 7:45 am <u>ACROW</u>

8:00 am - 8:15 am <u>CST Stabilization</u> 8:30 am - 8:45 am <u>JEO Consulting</u>

9:00 am to **Morning Concurrent Sessions**

11:15 am

Session A - Hydraulics and Bridges Meeting Room 309-310

| Presiding - | Nick Buse. | Sac and | Calhoun | Counties |
|-------------|------------|---------|---------|----------|
| | | | | |

| 9:00 am 9:30 am 10:00 am 10:30 am | Hydrologic and Hydraulic Analysis of Bridges and Culverts and Compliance with DNR Regulations – Dave Claman, Iowa DOT Basic Pile Design Techniques – Michael Nop, Iowa DOT Proposed New NBI and NBIS Regulation – Chris Cromwell, FHWA Iowa Division Updates to Load Rating Table in SIIMS – Scott Neubauer, Iowa DOT | | |
|--|---|--|--|
| | Session B – County Funding and Support Meeting Room 301 Presiding – Trent Wolken, Cass County | | |
| 9:00 am 9:30 am 10:00 am 10:30 am | Panel on TIF and Bonding Activities and Experiences – Cathy Nicholas, Black Hawk County; Mark Nahra, Woodbury County; and, Joel Fantz, Fayette County Local Option Sales and Service Tax (LOSST) Implementation and Use – Brad Ketels, Linn County; Anthony Bardgett, Dubuque and Delaware Counties; and, Mark Nahra, Woodbury County Uses of the Road Use Tax Fund – Niki Stinn, Iowa DOT Creative Financing – Andrew McGuire, Keokuk and Mahaska Counties | | |
| | Session C - Roadway Safety Meeting Room 311 Presiding - Ryan Weidemann, Hamilton County | | |
| 9:00 am 9:30 am | Guardrail 101: When Guardrail is Required and Which Standards or Type to Use – Nicole Moore, Iowa DOT Iowa Fatality Reduction Task Force – Brett Tjepkes, Governor's Traffic Safety Bureau and Captain | | |
| 10:15 am 10:45 am | Troy Bailey, Iowa State Patrol Traffic Safety Projects in Iowa – Jan Laaser-Webb, Iowa DOT MUTCD Update – Mark Nahra, Woodbury County | | |
| | Session D - Maintenance and Rehabilitation Meeting Room 319-320 Presiding - Adam Shutt, Louisa County | | |
| 9:00 am 9:30 am | Ultra High Performance Concrete for Bridge Preservation and Repair – Brian Moore, Iowa County Engineers Service Bureau Preserve, Rehabilitate, or Replace? A Bridge Engineer and Owner's Perspective – Jim Nelson, | | |
| 10:00 am 10:30 am | Iowa DOT Quality County Aggregate Production and Process – Steve Sorenson, Martin Marietta Pavement Preservation Guideline Overview – Ashley Buss, Iowa DOT | | |
| 11:00 am | Photos for County Engineers Service Bureau Staff Table (for new engineers and those who need an updated photo) | | |
| 11:00 am to 11:45 am | Exhibitor Presentations Ballroom Foyer | | |
| 11:00 am - 11: 11:30 am - 11: | 45 am Valmont Industries, Inc | | |
| 11.15 am | Fyhihitor/Particinant Onnortunities | | |

11:15 am **Exhibitor/Participant Opportunities**

11:45 am **Awards Luncheon Ballroom B**

- MCEA Update Brian Giese, MCEA President, Pope County, MN
- NACE Update Todd Kinney, NACE President, Clinton County, IA; Kevan Stone, NACE Executive Director; and, Chris Champion, NACE President Elect, Henry County, AL
- Build a Better Mousetrap Competition Results Announcement
- Technical School Scholarship Awards
 DMACC and Hawkeye Community College

1:00 pm Roundtables Meeting Room 301, 309, 310, 311, 319, 320

Subjects collected by the DOT Local Systems Bureau

Note: Refer to room assignment handout in your folder for county assignments & topics

2:00 pm Concrete Sundaes & Exhibitor/ICEA Prize Drawing Meeting Room Level

Sponsored by Iowa Concrete Paving Association

2:30 pm **Exhibits Close/Tear-down**

2:30-4:30 pm Engineers Program Meeting Room 309-310

Presiding – Karen Albert, Montgomery County

New County Engineers Refresher – Niki Stinn, Iowa DOT and Lyle Brehm, Tama and Poweshiek

Counties

Engaging in the Legislative Process - Lucas Beenken, Iowa State Association of Counties

Local Government Employee Recruitment in Today's World - Lisa Mart, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, Iowa

Municipalities Workers Compensation Association

Roundtable Discussion on Retention and Succession Planning

2:30-4:30 pm **Technicians Program Ballroom B**

Presiding – Ben Kusler, Woodbury County and Ron Bell, Harrison County

A panel of IDOT Materials Technicians will answer questions from the County Techs and follow up on pre-submitted questions. Materials inspection documentation are constantly changing and it is difficult for County personnel to be assured that they are following the guidelines as set out by the IDOT. The panel will be answering questions on materials fabrication inspection, construction materials documentation and materials auditing. Panelists include Kathy Gutzeit,

Shane Fetters, and Joseph Burns from the Iowa DOT.

5:00 pm **Reception & Cash Bar Ballroom Foyer, Hilton Hotel**

Students arrive for Banquet

5:30 pm Banquet and Evening Program with Entertainment Cloud Ballroom, Hilton Hotel

Invocation – ID King, Page County

Introduction of Past Presidents - Mark Nahra, Woodbury County, ICEA President

Technician Awards

Introduction of Students and Scholarship Presentations:

Iowa State University University of Iowa

Introduction of New County Engineers

ICEA Award Presentations

Friday, December 17, 2021 (All Events at Event Center)

7:30 am **Breakfast Ballroom Foyer**

8:15 am General Session Ballroom A

Presiding - Angie Kersten, Scott County

8:15 am **Exploring Engineering Ethics Ballroom A**

Dr. Howard Shapiro, Mechanical Engineering, Iowa State University

9:15 am Asphalt Update Ballroom A

Scott Dockstader, Asphalt Paving Association of Iowa

9:45 am Concrete Innovations and Initiatives Ballroom A

Greg Mulder, Iowa Concrete Paving Association

| 10:15 am | Historical Perspectives of Iowa County Engineering Ballroom A Bob Sperry, Retired and Royce Fichtner, Asphalt Paving Association of Iowa |
|----------|---|
| 10:45 am | Spotlight County Project Ballroom A Wapello Bridge Replacement, Larry Roehl, Retired Louisa County Engineer |
| 11:15 am | Local Systems, Session B Ballroom A Presiding – Nicole Moore, Iowa DOT ADA – Sarah Okerlund, Iowa DOT Project Development and New TPDev – Christy VanBuskirk, Iowa DOT Construction Contract Administration Discussion – Zach Gunsolley, Iowa DOT |
| 12:00 pm | Adjourn |

Thank you to our sponsors!

Concrete Sundays Sponsor



Refreshment Break Sponsor

Thursday Morning Breakfast Sponsor





WiFi Sponsors



Network: 2021 ICEA Annual

Password: CaterpillarIA