2019 ICEA ANNUAL CONFERENCE

DECEMBER 11-13, 2019

(As of 11/07/2019, Subject to Change)



Wednesday, December 11, 2019

7:30-10:30a.m.	Exhibitor setup
10:30 11:00 12:00 p.m.	Registration, Exhibits Open for Viewing Meeting Room Level AGC Social with Conference Attendees Meeting Room Level Opening Luncheon with AGC Ballroom B
1:00	Afternoon Session Ballroom A Presiding – Jon Burgstrum, Scott County ICEA – JD King, President, Page County IHRB – Brian Moore, Iowa County Engineers Service Bureau FHWA – Tim Marshall, Division Administrator ISRMSA – Chace Pruismann, President, Wright County ICEOO – Janet Payne, President, Buchanan County APWA – Adam Smith, President, City of Des Moines
1:30	ICEA Business Meeting Ballroom A
1:45	Keynote Address: David Thoreson Ballroom A The Accidental Explorer: An Iowan Sails the Northwest Passage
2:45	Refreshment Break
3:15	Local Systems, Session A Ballroom A Presiding – Donna Buchwald, Iowa DOT Environmental Regulations on Non-Federal-Aid Projects – Nicole Moore, Iowa DOT Project Development Information Do's and Don'ts – Christy VanBuskirk, Iowa DOT Construction and Contract Administration – Sarah Okerlund, Iowa DOT

Thursday, December 12, 2019

4:45-6:15

7:30 a.m.	Continental Breakfast in the Exhibit Area; Exhibits Open Meeting Room	Level
-----------	---	-------

Vendor Reception in the exhibit area Meeting Room Level

Morning Concurrent Sessions

Session A - Slope Stabilization Meeting Room 301

Presiding – Cory Gaston, Mills County

9:00 404 Permitting for Streambank Stabilization and Bridges – Al Frohlich, United States Army Corps

of Engineers

9:45 Flood Fighting: Emergency Levees – Curtis Miller, United States Army Corps of Engineers
10:15 Introduction to Slope Stability and Slope Stabilization Techniques – Vern Schaefer, Iowa State

University

	Session B – Vehicle Weight Regulations and Policies Meeting Room 319-320 Presiding – Randy Zerr, Wayne County
9:00	Addressing the Impacts of New Vehicle Weight Legislation (e.g., Raw Forest Products, SHV, etc.) – Scott Neubauer and Alex Jansen, Iowa DOT
9:30	Impacts of Large and Overloaded Agricultural Vehicles (Superloads) on Low-Volume Pavement Performance – Halil Ceylan, Iowa State University
10:00	County Panel: The Pros, Cons and County Practice Related to Vehicle Weight Regulations and Policies – Lyle Brehm, Tama and Poweshiek Counties and Paul Assman, Crawford County
10:30	Policies for Record Retention Requirements and Public Information Requests – Kristi Harshbarger, Iowa State Association of Counties
	Session C – Bridges and Culverts Meeting Room 309-310 Presiding – Christian Boehmer, Clarke County
9:00	Examples of Permitting/Rating Analysis Sheets and Tools to Improve Efficiency – Lyle Brehm, Tama and Poweshiek Counties
9:30	Staged Construction, Oneota Drive Bridge, Decorah – Tony Babcock and Chad Meyer, McClure Engineering Consultants
10:00	Saving Time and Money with Press-Brake Formed Steel Tub Girders – Guy Nelson, Con-Struct Enterprises
10:30	Pressure Grouting Repair of Culverts – Austin Thomas, DENCO Highway Construction Corporation
	Session D – Current Practice: Social Media, Safety Training, and Catastrophe Management Meeting Room 311
	Presiding – Landon Moore, Bremer County
9:00	The Power of Social Media – Tracey Bramble, Iowa DOT
9:30	County Practice with Social Media Panel – Nicole Stinn, Iowa DOT; Jeremy Abbas, Wright County; Mitch Rydl, Audubon County; and Ben Loots, Humboldt County
10:00	Required Employee Training and Resources – Paul Albritton, Iowa LTAP
10:30	Lessons Learned from Catastrophe Situations – Justin Nickel, City of Marshalltown
11:00	Photos for County Engineers (for new engineers and those who need an updated photo)
11:15	Exhibitor/Participant Opportunities
11:45	Awards Luncheon Ballroom B
	 MCEA Update – Wayne Sandberg, MCEA President, Washington County, Minnesota
	NACE Update – Tim Hens, NACE President, Genesee County, New York The last of the las
	 Technical School Scholarship Awards DMACC and Hawkeye Community College
1:00 p.m.	Roundtables – Subjects collected by the DOT Office of Local Systems Meeting Room
1.00 p.iii.	301,309,310, 311, 319, 320
	<i>Note:</i> Refer to room assignment handout in your folder for county assignments & topics
2:00	Concrete Sundaes & Exhibitor/ICEA Prize Drawing Meeting Room Level Sundaes sponsored by Iowa Concrete Paving Association
2:30	Exhibits Close/Tear-down
2:30-4:30	Engineers Program Meeting Room 309-310
	Presiding – Scott Rinehart, O'Brien County
	TPMS 2020 Update and Training – Dan Waid, Iowa County Engineers Association Service Bureau

County Panel on Gravel Road Maintenance and the Public: Alternatives and Approaches – Dusten Rolando, Floyd and Chickasaw Counties; Ben Loots, Humboldt County; Mark Nahra, Woodbury County; and, Laura Sievers, Lyon County

Current Approaches to Employee Relations and Contract Negotiation – Renee Vonbokern, Von Bokern & Associates, Inc.

2:30-4:30 **Technicians Program: "Live Rescue" Ballroom B**

Presiding - Ben Kusler, Woodbury County

A panel of experienced County Technicians will go over problems that arise during construction. The panel will discuss solutions to live questions and provide input on situations that have been submitted by counties.

Panel Members: Bryan DeJong, Dallas County; Virgil Bremer, Woodbury County; and, Pamela Olson, Jasper County

5:00 **Reception** & Cash Bar Pre-Con Area, Hilton

Students arrive for Banquet

5:30 Banquet and Evening Program with Entertainment Cloud Ballroom, Hilton

Invocation - Dave Paulson, Carroll County

Introduction of Past Presidents -JD King, Page County, ICEA President

Technician Awards

Introduction of Students and Scholarship Presentations:

Iowa State University University of Iowa

Introduction of New County Engineers

ICEA Award Presentations - Awards Committee

Post Banquet Entertainment

Friday, December 13, 2019

7:30 a.m.	Breakfast Cloud Ballroom
8:30	General Session Cloud Ballroom Sarah Tracy, Cherokee County
8:30	Professional Ethics for Licensed Engineers – Rita Perea, Rita Perea Leadership Consulting Cloud Ballroom
9:30	Communication: This is Not As Hard As You Think – Jonathan Gano, City of Des Moines Cloud Ballroom
10:15	Spotlight County Project: Boone River Bridge - Nicole Stinn, Iowa DOT Cloud Ballroom
11:00	Local Systems, Session B Cloud Ballroom Presiding – Donna Buchwald, Iowa DOT Local Systems Update Iowa LTAP Update – Keith Knapp, Iowa LTAP
11:45	Adjourn